During a recent trip to the 21st century I was made aware of a website called “I Write Like.” This site invites you to input good sized excerpts from your personal writing and analyzes which writer of note your style most resembles. Why I bothered I do not know. Vanity may have played into it though one would hope not. Possibly it was simply my sense of fun.

I entered the text of my Letter from New Toulouse which appears on these pages and “clicked” the button. The result came most quickly proclaiming that I write like David Foster Wallace. Interesting.

As I was about to move on to other things it occurred to me to enter another of my writings for analysis. I selected my entry, Day of Change and was told that I write like James Joyce. This was a bit much to take and caused me to laugh quite loudly.

But why stop there? I continued to “cut and paste” several other essays I have penned and published here. The first eight that were entered were met with the names of eight different authors. It does cause one to wonder if perhaps they suffer from some sort of multiple personality disorder. On the ninth try finally an author’s name was repeated by the analyzer. I submitted a total of ten manuscripts which I have published previously on these pages. Should you be interested, here are the results. They are listed in the order in which they were analyzed, rather than their order of appearance here.

Letter from New Toulouse – David Foster Wallace

Day of Change – James Joyce

Winterfell, The First Days – Douglas Adams

Journey to Ravens Reach – Ursala K. LeGuin

Letter from Austral – Arthur C. Clarke

Date With A Beauty – Raymond Chandler

Whitfield Talks of Franklin’s Civic Strategy – Kurt Vonegut

The Five W’s – Gertrude Stein

An Introduction – Douglas Adams

Explorer’s Journal: Austral – Arthur C. Clarke

Now that you know that my work has been compared to so many great authors you may wish to go back and read my entries again. Ha!

Should you decide to visit the I Write Like website and try this process yourself I would suggest you do as I did and enter only the body of your text, skipping its title. I also deleted notations such as the date or time if they appeared in the original text. I only submitted the actual narrative of each entry. However, I must warn you that at this point the entire exercise seems like a tremendous waste of time.

Before I close, let me just enter the article you are reading here and see whose writing this most resembles. I shall not include the list of titles and authors above.

Just one moment…

I write like H.P. Lovecraft.

