It was a cold day to be outside working but there I was, surveying the northern area of Evergreen, looking for the right spot to put a cottage which will be rented out to writers. It will be a nice place in the woods for one to write, think or just chill. The location is along my border with Mourning Wood, a territory of woods, water and the impressive Carenduna, home of Lady Rachel’s family.

I ventured across the boundary and into my neighbor’s south woods. As I walked, both the view of Carenduna ahead of me and of my village behind were enhanced by the woods around me and the twilight Winterfell sky. Then I glanced to my right and saw my home, Evergreen Castle, in the distance. It just doesn’t get any better than this. What a beautiful spot.

Lady Rachel has spoken of her north woods several times and I realized that was my destination. I walked up to her large home and past it, headed for the path to those woods. Every step along the way, marveling at the beauty of it all.

The north woods featured some small structures including a cabin and a MAGE portal, available to the public. As a time traveller, I have used such devices before, so I had to take a look at the list of landing points. I shall come back and try this on another day, I thought.

I stopped several times to enjoy the view of open water to the east and north and of Undertow and Libris to the west and northwest. Standing at the edge of the trees with a wide view of these two open water regions, the beam of the distant lighthouse in Undertow, and an other-worldly affect of light from Libris gave the impression that these waters went on forever and made one feel as if on the edge of infinity. I did not stray from this spot for sometime.

You are lucky that I am a time traveller. One who likes to pick up little gadgets and trinkets from my travels to add to my collection. Fortunately I was carrying one of those gadgets on this day for my surveying work, a very small photographic device. Yes, it is cheating to use a camera in my surveying, generally I abide by the ideal of using the “tools of the time” in any job. But sometimes, well, this camera is just so cool… Sorry for the digression. Point is, I took a picture to share the beauty of the view from Carenduna with you. If you are a strict idealist, you need not look…

View of Undertow and Libris from Mourning Wood

Finally, I left the north woods for the trek home. I crossed the bridge in front of Carenduna and could see the ice was thick enough that it was safe to walk across the water to the outer land along the border with Undertow. I am so glad I did this as I made a surprising discovery. It’s not a big deal but something I was unaware of until now. And it made me study my maps as soon as I got home.

We always think of Undertow as an open water area but there are little specs of dry land at four spots along its borders – three on its western side and one, right here on Undertow’s eastern boundary, that connects to Mourning Wood. I never noticed this. What a nice, isolated spot to sit – in the warmer weather months, of course – and gaze at the sea. And the discovery of this spot made me think, “Hey! Our southeast continent is not three sims, it is four! Haven, Evergreen, Mourning Wood and Undertow – all connected by land! Who knew?!” Like I said, it wasn’t a big discovery but it’s the kind of little thing that turns an explorer on.

I left the tiny peninsula in Undertow, walked a few steps and I was back in Mourning Wood. Then I walked back to Evergreen, up the new path that Lady Rachel and I have connected and into my village. From there I took my rowboat to my cottage on the island I have not yet named. I got the maps out and looked at my photos and decided to do this article.

If you visit the Mourning Wood sim, in the southeast of Winterfell, do remember that it is the home of Rachel du Carenduna and respect her privacy and that of her relatives, friends and buildings…as you would at anyone’s home. Always remember Rule No. 1, explorers must always be courteous toward others and toward private property.

Lady Rachel does welcome visitors to tour the grounds and woods and view the sea. There are many beautiful spots in Winterfell, this is truly one of them. It is worth the trip if you are looking for a nice place to walk and be alone.

Carenduna

