In my Winterfell office, going through the morning correspondence. A telegram from Quin made me drop everything…

EXCITING NEWS! BREAKTHROUGH! SHOULD RESTRUCTURE OUR AGREEMENT RE AGES IN YOUR CARE. MUST MEET!

I couldn’t begin to guess at what this breakthrough might be or why it would affect my work for The Trust but I was excited by Quin’s telegram just the same.

I would go straight to meet him in… ????? Where exactly?

I grabbed my coat and bag and headed for the door, nearly knocking over my assistant in the process.

“I’m off, Mr. Afterthought,” I said as I brushed passed him.

“Where to, sir?” he called after me as I opened the door.

“Oh….Evergreen…Devokan…somewhere around then,” I shouted.

I can imagine the look on his face.

I can imagine it because I’ve seen it before.

And that rolling of the eyes too.

 

