I have now read every book on the shelves of my retreat in Kamar. I had already brought all the paperwork up to date; corresponded with Mr. Zeplin; toured the Ages, toured them again; picked up the odd prim that I must have left there eons ago (I wanted to say “ages” ago but I’ve already used that joke more than once)…There was nothing else to do here.

Should I just go home to Winterfell now? And then have to make the trip back later? That would be a wasted effort. So I just sit here. Damn! I’m a time traveller – a man on the go! I enjoy just sitting around doing nothing when that is my choice but sitting around doing nothing because one has no control over the situation is another matter entirely.

I mixed a G&T while I considered the options, such as they are.

I have been here every day for nearly a month. Well, not every day. I’ve had to travel back and forth to Winterfell a couple of times and to Dankoville too. And there were a couple of side trips here and there, now and then. But I have been here often. Doing what I have done so many times over the past four years…

Waiting for Quin.

(I’ve been threatening to write a song with that title. It would be something to sing or whistle while I wait.)

 

Waiting for Quin,

When has he been?

Waiting for Quin once again.

 

When will he be in?

Shall I pour more gin –

While I sing the same old refrain?…

 

Waiting for Quin….

 

I put down my G&T and picked up the telegram and read it again.

EXCITING NEWS! BREAKTHROUGH! SHOULD RESTRUCTURE OUR AGREEMENT RE AGES IN YOUR CARE. MUST MEET!

“Must meet!” Yeah, sounds urgent there Quin. Real urgent.

 

Waiting for Quin

When has he been?

Waiting for Quin once again…

 

(whistles)

